Just published: “The DJ as Critic”

ESC-DJarticle_collage“The DJ as Critic”: my article in the latest issue of English Studies In Canada. Seeing work reach print never gets old, but the design of ESC is always exceptional, from typeface to pull-quotes.
This issue also features work by national treasures like Diana Brydon, Susan Brown, George Elliott Clarke, Smaro Kamboureli & Len Findlay, to name just a few…so I’m thrilled my words get to rub paper shoulders with such a Who’s Who of Canadian literature and literary studies.

This article is presently available only in the print edition of ESC; I will update this post when the article becomes available online.

UPDATE: This issue of ESC is now digitally available via Project Muse. The article is at this link, available to Project Muse users (i.e. postsecondary students and faculty). If you don’t have Project Muse access, but want a copy, just e-mail me a request for it. (That’s one way fair dealing works.) Eventually it will be openly accessible at ESC‘s website, but not for another year or so.

2 responses to “Just published: “The DJ as Critic”

  1. I’m looking forward to reading this article! I think I remember seeing a draft once upon a time, but it’s been a minute. My teaching portfolio includes a fantasy syllabus for a course on “drugs and culture” (an elaboration on the module for which you did a guest talk via Skype), and I’ve been waiting to add your bit about the branding of ecstasy for awhile now.

  2. Looking forward to reading your article, Mark. Keep me posted re its availability. 🙂

Leave a Reply

